Redding, California Adventure

As some of you know, my cat had kittens and we’ve been looking for homes for the remaining two. My friend Gingi (Domestic Geek Goddess) made a blog post in hopes to help us find forever homes for them.

About a week after she posted, she texted me saying that someone from OREGON contacted her and was interested in “Kenny” (the orange maine coon kitten, named by Isaac)! I was surprised to hear that they were willing to meet half way and pay for my gas to get there!

So, on Friday, the girls and I headed up to Redding with Kenny (the boys went on an adventure of their own, fishing with daddy). Kenny was a little nervous (he actually panted a few different times while in the car)… but for the most part, he slept for most of the trip.
Image
Every time he woke up, I would try to take a picture, but he’d see my hand go towards him and he’d reach for me… so, the pictures looked like this:
Image
I did get a couple awake photos, but they weren’t very good because when he was awake, he wanted to be as close to me as he could get… which didn’t make for very easy photos since I was driving and couldn’t look while I was taking a picture!
Image
Image

It was a nice drive… a little boring because there wasn’t much to look at, but we made it fun by singing along to music and finding cities that had funny names like this:
Image
YOLO! 😉

We got to Redding and met up with Kenny’s new “parents” at the California Welcome Center. I gave them a brand-new bag of his favorite food and that green pad (that’s pictured in his crate) because it was his favorite place to sleep when he was with us.
Image

Here’s Kenny with his new people
Image
I have spoken to them since they got home and they have assured me that he’s already very spoiled and they absolutely LOVE him. They will keep in touch and send me photos of him so I can see how he’s doing 🙂 I can’t wait to see how big he gets!!!

Since the Welcome Center was right next to the outlet mall, I let the girls do a little shopping so we could stretch out our legs (it’s a 5.5 hour drive each way). Of course, they picked Gymboree.
Image

Image

Outside the Welcome Center is a bear… not a real one… the girls wanted a photo with him..
Here’s one before Bella changed into her new outfit
Image
and after she changed…
Image
And then they decided to be super sweet and hold hands while walking back to the car
Image

After we left, I decided to visit some family that I have in Stockton that I haven’t seen in YEARS… 15+ years actually!
My 2nd cousin, Dan is a pilot, so we met them in his hanger (they were all already there having a BBQ).
Image
Image
that’s my (3rd?) cousin Christina whom is super sweet and it didn’t seem like we were meeting for the first time (like it does a lot of times when you meet distant family… you know that awkward.. hiii…….. how are you?…… *crickets*… lol.. it wasn’t like that at all 🙂
Here is my 2nd cousin Dan (he’s my mom’s cousin), myself and his airplane.
Image

It was a great visit, but it wasn’t very long considering we still had to drive home (it’s still about 2.5 hours to get home from Stockton) and I had to get up early the next day to host Gingi’s baby shower! Which she’ll be posting about soon and I will be reblogging it! So, keep an eye out for it!!!

One thought on “Redding, California Adventure

Leave a Reply

