It is Better to Give Than to Receive

Acts 20:35

As I’ve said, I don’t like to push things on people (my beliefs included)… so if you don’t want to hear about my faith, feel free to click that little X in the corner. This post is more for me to “vent” than it is for anyone to benefit from. But for those of you still reading, I hope you do get something from it.

I grew up in a Southern Baptist Church. I wouldn’t say I was “sheltered”, but I was definitely well-guarded from all the evil in the world. I am thankful for this because it allowed me to see the good and learn how to BE THE GOOD long before enduring the bad.

One thing I learned from a young age was that it’s better to give than to receive. And while I don’t argue that, at all, it has given a lot of people the chance to take advantage of me. Yet, I still continue to give and I always will. I’m sure there will be many more times that I am burned, but you know what? That’s not what matters. Why do I need to be selfish just because the majority of the world is selfish? People are so blind to what REALLY matters.
People get so caught up in materialistic things, unhealthy habits, immoral habits, etc. that they cannot see what they’re missing out on: friendships, love, confidence, self-worth, etc.

Do you know what one of the biggest problems for everyone today is?

Money.

Did you know that money is the #1 cause for divorce? Studies show that it doesn’t matter how much people make, it’s ALWAYS a huge contributing factor. This is sad to me because how can someone let MONEY overshadow love?
Matthew 6:21 says: “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” My heart will ALWAYS be for 3 things: Jesus, my family and my friends. Money does not and will not ever have my heart. If that means I’ll be a middle-class citizen (or lower) for the rest of my life, then so be it! There’s no money in heaven. I don’t need things.

Don’t get me wrong, I like things… and I like money. And often times, I get caught up in wanting cool things or nice things. But for every one thing that I have for myself, there are hundreds of things that I have given to others. It’s not because I want to seem “better” than others, but because I truly do care and that it’s important for my family and friends to know that I AM HERE FOR THEM. Always.
Money can be replaced. People and the relationships we build with them cannot. Call me crazy, but if that means I have to suffer to help someone, I will. I have faith that my family and I will be taken care of. It doesn’t mean that I’m going to spend ALL of our money to help someone (like my husband often thinks I will), but Luke 6:38 says “Give and you shall receive.”

It’s not about “what have they done for me?” That’s never the question that should be your motivation to help someone. Jesus DIED for us. Where would we be today if that was HIS motivation?

So, for everyone reading this, even if you don’t believe in Jesus:
Please start putting others first. Just think of how much better the world would be if everyone would ask each other “What can I do to help?” without any expectations for something in return.

Image 

One thought on “It is Better to Give Than to Receive

Leave a Reply

