I WANT IT NOW!!!!

When people see me with my kids (or my husband.. LOL), they always tell me: “you have a lot of patience.” And while that may be true, it’s only true when it comes to human beings. If I see something I want, I WANT IT NOW!
This is something I have dealt with for my entire life. It wasn’t until this last Sunday when my pastor used a verse in his sermon that struck a chord. That verse was Hebrews 13:5 and it reads: “Keep your life free from love of money and be content with what you have, for He has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.””
So simple, but 6 words REALLY stuck out to me: BE CONTENT WITH WHAT YOU HAVE.
I probably stared at those 6 words for a good 10 minutes.
All of my life, I’ve always wanted the best and the newest… and if I couldn’t get the best or the newest, I’d settle for something else just to appease my desire… but then shortly after, realize that it still wasn’t good enough and I wanted something better and newer again. It’s a vicious cycle.
I did this with weight loss too!! Ever since I was young, I’ve been overweight (a lot had to do with the steroids I was always on for my asthma, but A LOT had to do with my poor diet). By the time I was an adult and was able to try to fix my bad eating habits, I’d be good for a week or two, but then since I wasn’t seeing fantastic results in that short time, I’d CAVE at the sight (or smell) of junk food. Then a couple weeks or months later, see a picture of myself and think UGH… I need to lose weight.
Another vicious cycle.

So, what did Hebrews 13:5 help me with?
It helped me realize that I’m ALREADY blessed and ALREADY have awesome things. I have a house, I have a car, I have food, I have clothes and I have a healthy body (short of asthma and bad knees :P). I will continue to better my body, but not for the selfish reasons that I used to want it for. I need to be content with what I have.

I have a beautiful family and amazing friends that love me for who I am, not for what I have. And above all else, I have an everlasting God whom will never leave me.

I will be content.
Image

Leave a Reply

